Random Nostalgia Post #1: Silly Teacher

friday-the-13th-part-vii-the-new-blood-horror-movies-21325816-900-506

As a child, I was fortunate enough to have a cool mom that let me watch awesome horror movies. Of course, I talked about these flicks at school. I talked about a bunch of random horror films that I had watched the weekend before. It was one day that I’d get into hot water over this.

It was in 1st grade, we were having lunch. The cafeteria smelled of Clorox. I was sitting at the end of our lunch table, probably wearing a Rugrats shirt. I was talking to some other boys about “Friday the 13th: Part VII: The New Blood”. A flick they have never watched. Well, as I was speaking, the teacher’s aid walked by to hear me talking about a particular moment from aforementioned flick.

In fact, it was the scene where Tina makes the roof collapse on Jason. I can’t really remember what I said, but it was most likely awesome. That teacher’s aid couldn’t have any of that. This was the same aid that overreacted when someone said, “Beauty & the Butt”. She walked over to my teacher’s table and they talked.

Well, I knew they were talking about me. It was at the end of the day when we were leaving that my teacher talked to my mom about that stuff. Pretty much telling my mom that I can’t watch horror films. Telling her that Disney films are better suited for someone my age. I thought I was going to be in trouble.

Like I said, my mom is cool. She continued to let me watch horror flicks. As for the teacher, I could understand her concern. Horror films have become a scapegoat for so much awful stuff. She was probably looking out for me. Or she probably didn’t like horror films. Either way, justice won!

Leave a Reply

