Nostalgia Post #3- The Wrestling Show

On this day, September 4th in the year 2000, I went to Raw is War. I was a huge wrestling fan back in the day and I always wanted to go a wrestling show. My mom asked this woman, who was also an avid wrestling fan, if she wanted to go and she did. So, they ordered the tickets and blah, blah, blah.

Raw-Is-War-799907

When the day finally came, which was on a monday, I was ecstatic. At the time, The Rock was my favorite. So, naturally I wore Rock clothes. We went with a kid from my school, his name was Mark. He was 56 years old and in 4th grade. The venue was Rupp Arena. We pulled into the parking lot and there were WWF trucks (at this time, it was the World Wrestling Federation) I took a pic beside them!

The good ol days
The good ol days

As we walked towards the entrance, there was a drive way thing and I saw D-Von Dudley. I waved and he waved back. That was awesome!! Then, we went inside, I got a Rock styrofoam hand. We ate at the food court, Mark spilled his drink in front of everyone. It was the first time I ever had A&W burgers.

$_3

The show was about to start, so we lined up while security guards checked the crowd signs. I remember wanting to make a sign, but I wasn’t able to :/ We sat in our seats, which was really far away. You could still see what was happening though. Mark spilled his drink again while we waited for the show to start. There was some country singer there singing the star-spangled banner,there was also a pre-show match or three, then Jim Ross and Jerry Lawler made their entrance.

artworks-000065376160-nylos9-t500x500

Then, Raw started. The fireworks weren’t as loud as it seemed on TV, but it was still cool. Triple H and Stephanie McMahon Hemsley came out at the beginning of the show. The crowd chanted slut at Stephanie, which was acceptable behavior back in the day.

No reason for this.
No reason for this.

There’s not too much I can remember from the show except that Kane fought Chris Benoit. I was really bummed not to see Lita, I mean she appeared on the titantron. Also, Val Venis was abducted by the Right to Censor. The final match had the Rock in it and at the end of the show, he held the title up.

It was an awesome experience. I can’t wait to see the full show again when it’s added to the WWE network in 200 years.

He waved at me
He waved at me
Leave a Reply

