Franchise Ranking: A Nightmare on Elm Street

The first films that I have watched this October was the Elm Street series, I’m a huge fan of Freddy Krueger played by Robert Englund and lord knows that I’ve been waiting to watch these for a long time, the following is my ranking of all the films, except Freddy vs. Jason.

a-nightmare-on-elm-street-logo

08.) Wes Craven’s New Nightmare- I’m not denying the fact that Wes Craven was a remarkable filmmaker, I’m just saying that I never cared for his directorial return to the franchise. I’ve wanted to like this film and have tried to give it chances. There are a few bright spots in it, but overall I cannot enjoy it.

wes-cravens-new-nightmare-promo-17

07.) A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)- I know that this will be blaspemy to some, choosing this over New Nightmare. I hold it up by a just a tad. The scares are so cheap and Freddy looks awful, but Katie Cassidy and Rooney Mara are very attractive. So, that’s how it wins. Plus, Miko Hughes doesn’t star in this. Jackie Earle did the best with what he was given, I don’t hate him.

nightmare-on-elm-street-2010-freddy-krueger-jackie-earl-haley-movie-wallpaper

06.) A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child- A weak follow-up to Elm Street 4. It has a good story and Freddy is pretty awesome. But, the tone feels depressing.

849full-a-nightmare-on-elm-street-5--the-dream-child-screenshot

05.) Freddy’s Dead- I like it, but dont…if that makes sense. I love Freddy and he’s awesome, but the characters are so awful and unlikable.

freddys-dead-the-final-nightmare-robert-englund-power-glove

04.) A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)- By the time that I watched this, I was already use to Freddy being a jokester. It’s the scariest of the series and has an amazing soundtrack. It’s just one of those films that gets shoved in your face like doing a video for Brazzers.

nightmare-on-elm-street1984-1

03.) A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s Revenge- Probably one of the creepiest horrors out there, just for those human face dogs. Freddy gets the sweater with stripes on the arms 🙂 It’s pretty neat. Awesome VHS cover as well!

maxresdefault

02.) A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: The Dream Warriors- I rented this, Friday the 13th Part II and Dawn of the Dead all the time as a kid. At one time, it was my favorite. Freddy begins to be a lighter character. It is still awesome and I love it.

1374598173_61e0384fd339

and #1 is..

01.) A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master- Freddy’s fourth is his best, in my opinion. It feels like if John Hughes made a horror film. The special effects were top notch. The soundtrack was grade A. It’s an all around perfect horror sequel.

nightmare4-07

Leave a Reply

