Franchise Ranking: Romero Living Dead Series

This series of films made the zombie genre what it is today. So, let’s rank ’em 🙂

06.) George A. Romero’s Diary of the Dead- Romero decided he’d get in on the whole found footage deal. Well, it didn’t work for him. I was surprised to see this own out in ’08. I remember buying it and when I got home, I sat and watched. I was so disappointed. I tried to take the movie back, but Wal-Mart didn’t accept.

DIARY+OF+THE+DEAD+PHOTO1

05.) George A. Romero’s Survival of the Dead- Granted, I only watched this once back in 2010. I was also disappointed with this one. Who knows, If I were to watch it, I might think its the worst, but I don’t own it or have any desire in owning it.

survivalscaled

04.) George A. Romero’s Land of the Dead- I found out about this film in Entertainment Weekly in middle school. A theater in a town near played it and I watched. I remember liking it at the theater. I have since changed my feeling towards the film. I agree it’s the best one of the recent trilogy, I just have a hard time liking any of the main characters. Also, the CGI ruins this and the other ones as well. Romero’s film use to be about the spectacle of storytelling and techniques of mind-blowing special effects.

1441026142_zemlya-mertvyh-2

03.) Night of the Living Dead- I watched the 1990 remake before I watched this one. I always found this one to be a little boring. I think the acting is top-notch, but I can’t get into it. I understand its cultural signifgance and applaud it. But, it’s not one of my favorites.

night-of-the-living-dead_1

02.) George A. Romero’s Day of the Dead- This film always gets better each viewing. I love it. It has Savini’s best special effects of the series. It also has the strongest story of the entire franchise.

day-of-the-dead-hands

and #1 is…

01.) George A. Romero’s Dawn of the Dead- A film that I have watched close to 2 billion times. I honestly can’t really find anything to dislike about it. It’s my favorite film of all time. It’s also the best Romero film out there. It’s just so much fun.

tumblr_m56p81QwRR1qzr8nao1_1280

Leave a Reply

