Franchise Ranking: Return of the Living Dead

When Romero ruled zombie films, there was one that stood out from the rest. That was Return of the Living Dead, which was based on a novel by John A. Russo, who also wrote “Night of the Living Dead”. So, I guess it came full circle. The following is my ranking of worst to best.

5.) Return of the Living Dead 3-  Yep, the one that everyone seems to love is the one is I dislike the most. I applaud the filmmakers for ‘trying’ to go for another tone. Overall, they didn’t do as good. I’ve just always hated this one. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve given shots at re-watching, but I’ve always been disappointed. I also know people say that the woman “Julie” is hot when she is needled up, she is better looking without the piercings.

return-of-the-living-dead-3-snarl-740x493

4.) Return of the Living Dead 4: Necropolis-  A more reasonable title would be “Necrapolis” hamirite? Yep, I’ve only watched this once, the night it premiered on the Syfy channel. Yeah, this was a Syfy movie. It’s horrible, but ties in more with ROTLD 3.

Necropolis

3.) Return of the Living Dead 5: Rave to the Grave- This one actually had the humor of the first two. Although, it also sucks. It premiered the same night as 4.

rotld5-2

2.) Return of the Living Dead Part II- I LOVE THIS ONE. I grew up watching this, it’s a great follow-up to the first. I always had a huge crush on Marsha Dietlin and Suzanne Snyder. I kinda enjoy it just as much as the first, being that the DVD sucks, I don’t choose it as #1…and the soundtrack to the film matters.

rotld2-ld_shot4l

and #1 is…

1.) Return of the Living Dead- One of the best horror films of the 1980s. I never get tired of it. The zombies are awesome and the film has a great soundtrack. All actors are grade A.

tumblr_m80jjuHVck1qzcgluo1_1280

2 thoughts on “Franchise Ranking: Return of the Living Dead

Leave a Reply

