Electric Boogaloo: The Wild, Untold Story of Cannon Films (2014) Review

019188

Directed by Mark Hartley

Starring Catherine Mary Stewart and Dolph Lundren

Plot: This documentary focuses on film producers, Menahem Golan and Yoran Globus and the creation of Cannon films which would produce cheap films that were often panned by critics. The film follows their rise and fall. This goes in depth about such films as Breakin’, Death Wish II-4, Masters of the Universe and many more.

Electric-Boogaloo-Cannon-Films-logo

Review: Although, I’m not a huge fan of the studio, I was intrigued by this documentary. It provides a lot of insight about the two producers and their passion of filmmaking. I’m aware of another documentary on the studio “The Go-Go Boys” which I’ll pass on, I can only hear the same stuff so many times. I feel if you’re a fan of Cannon, you’ll enjoy or if you’re a fan of cheap filmmaking. It’s a must, I suppose

Leave a Reply

