Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace (1999) Review

12239470_1022344267785844_1467571113686946981_n

Directed by George Lucas

Starring Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor

Plot: Two Jedi’s (Neeson and McGregor) are sent to negotiate a treaty, but are almost killed. They seek refuge on a nearby planet and meet a local, then they escape the planet with the Queen. They land on a desert planet and meet a young boy who agrees to help them by winning a dangerous race. Long story short, a Sith lord battles the Jedi’s and whatnot.

star-wars-the-phantom-menace

Review: I have a soft spot for this one. I know it’s a very popular thing to hate on this one. I see where the hate comes from. It’s not a great movie. But, I wouldn’t say it’s shit or anything like that. It has a lot of problems. The pace is one of those problems, it drags on so much. When actions scenes happen, you praise the lord. Jar Jar is a character that everyone hates and I don’t share those feelings, he is good comic relief, although he does get out of hand at some parts. Let’s see, the battles are good and the lightsaber duel between Obi-wan, Qui-Jon and Darth Maul is amazing. I wish we would have had more Maul, he was so interesting. Oh and the pod-race scene was really amazing. It is easily my least favorite Star Wars film, but I dig it.

Leave a Reply

