Random Nostalgia Post #8- BATMAN!

Next month, we’ll see the release of “Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice” and I am actually excited. We will see the two biggest DC characters square off against each other. I’m pulling for Batman, but deep down, I know Supes would murder him and no amount of brains can stop that. Batman and Me go way back. I have a fondness for the character. He was a huge apart of my childhood. So, let’s take a trip back in time.

batman-logo-big

As a kid, I was very aware of Batman. We had the critically successful, Batman: The Animated Series. It wasn’t until I watched Batman Returns that I truly got into the character. I watched that movie all the time when I was a kid. It was probably my favorite at the time. It wasn’t until I went to a local shop called Donna’s. I found a sealed VHS copy of 1989’s Batman. Which is still the copy I have to this day….and if you knew me as a kid, you’d know I didn’t really take care of VHS back then. Which is a shame.

batman2

I’ve watched 1989 so much in my life. It’s the definitive favorite of mine and I personally don’t believe that’ll ever change. So, I became a huge Batman fan after that. I started collecting the comics and watching all the shows. I had many Batman toys and even Batman shoes.

maxresdefault
I had the Two-Face and Joker car. I had the Batman, Cat Woman and Riddler toys

It was 1995, Batman Forever was released and McDonalds had collector’s glasses. I still have my Batman glass to this day! I loved that one, it had one of my favorite actors at the time, Jim Carrey as the Riddler. I can actually remember enjoying the game, but that’ll be a different blog in itself.

7

Years passed and we got many Batman things like numerous shows and Batman & Robin. It was in 2003, when TV Land showed the 1966 Batman show. I caught it on every day after school. I really enjoyed it. In 2005, Batman Begins came out and I rented it the day it came out, along with Romero’s Land of the Dead. It wasn’t until 2008 that I’d finally catch a Batman movie on the big screen with The Dark Knight and that is the last Batman flick I watched. Didn’t get to catch The Dark Knight Rises. So, I cannot to wait to see a new Batman flick!

Leave a Reply

