Thoughts: The Ghostbusters Trailer

On the 3rd of March, the trailer for the new female led Ghostbusters film dropped and everyone is kinda split on everything. I’m going to provide my thoughts and feelings on the trailer.

Now, I’m going to say this, I’m a Ghostbusters fan. It’s not my entire life, but I do like it. I watched the trailer with an open mind.

Okay, so one of the first things I noticed was when it brought up the first GB film. They made a mistake in saying “four scientists saved New York”. Now, Ernie Hudson’s character, Winston was not a scientist. Also, I thought this was just a solid reboot with affiliation with the original.

I liked the GB theme being played on piano, it was nice. Then we just see a few clips of humor, which didn’t really make me laugh. I really enjoyed the ghosts and the fact that they were glowing like classic ghosts from the series would.

I also liked the real quick shot of Slimer. Kate McKinnon’s character seemed to be the most likable and perhaps Kristen Wiig will be good as well. The weak spots were definitely Melissa McCarthy and Leslie Jones. Again, this is the first trailer, but they didn’t do anything to wow me.

Hands down, the worst part of the trailer was when Leslie Jones was slapping Melissa’s face to rid her of the ghost that she was possessed by. It was not funny and not ghostbusters humor.

tommy-lee-jones-unimpressed
My face during the entire trailer

Overall, I’m not sold on this movie yet. I’m not going to bash the film like others, but I’m not sure about this one.

 

 

One thought on “Thoughts: The Ghostbusters Trailer

Leave a Reply

