Thoughts: Eli Roth’s Death Wish

It’s been announced that Eli Roth will be directing “Death Wish”. I don’t know if it’s going to be a remake or one of the faithful adaptations of the book that filmmakers tend to say they’ll be making from time to time. Either way, I’m sort of bleh on the idea. I mean, I am open to Death Wish being remade and whatnot, I’m not a purist. I like some remakes. Hell, The Mechanic remake was very good.

But, Eli Roth is a director that hasn’t really impressed me. He first popped on the scene with Cabin Fever which was okay from what I remember, but he really got attention with the Hostel films. They were nothing special. After many years, Roth returned with Green Inferno. Y’know, like that really wasn’t good. In all honesty, I didn’t like cannibal movies from the get go.

The casting was predictable. Back in high school, I figured that Bruce Willis would get the role if a remake ever came up. In recent years, Mr. Willis has been very vocal against movies like this. So his heart probably won’t in it. Much like him on Die Hard 5. Death Wish isn’t a typical actioner though. In todays time, it can be a very good message and with Roth’s style, he’ll probably muck it up.

I’ll watch it and I do have hope that it’ll be great. Eli Roth did well with his trailer for Thanksgiving on Grindhouse. So, who knows, Roth can proba

Leave a Reply

