The Amityville Horror (1979) 31 for 31 Review

Its most certainly not the most original thing to do. But, for the 31 days of the year, I’m going to review a random mish-mash of horror/sci-fi. Really no particular categories or anything. Just really what I feel like.

56cbf1730adba

Directed by Stuart Rosenberg

Starring James Brolin and Margot Kidder

Synopsis: A series of murders happen in a Long Island house. One year later, a family moves into that house. Little creepy things begin to happen in the house. The man of the house  (Brolin) begins to show some odd behavior. They seem to be pulled apart in a small amount of time, but is this the work of the devil..?

Review: Every October, I try to begin the year off with a huge franchise marathon. I’ve always wanted to tackle the Amityville movies. So, I start the year off with this. I hadn’t watched this since hell I can’t remember. Anyway, the film starts out slow and tends to fall in a typical formula. But, this movie existed before the formula, so there’s that. James Brolin gives a good performance and you can see his descent into madness. It almost makes you feel like he knew he’d be married to Barbara Streisand, amirite?

The only thing that I can say negative towards this film is the release of it.  I kinda feel like it exploits the real life tragedy. I mean, it could’ve came out a year after the Defeo murders. Also, the unintentional comedy with Rod Steiger. I mean, the man is slapstick gold, but a terrific actor nonetheless.

This film often is overlooked by other 70s horrors but this one still has some pretty good moments and is as strong as The Exorcist or The Omen.

Leave a Reply

