FRIDAY THE 13th: The Game (Review)

So, you hear about that Friday the 13th game that came out? Ever since it was announced to be attached to my favorite horror franchise, I was so happy. I kept up with all the updates and even met the developers at a convention and told that I couldn’t wait to play it.

The game came out on May 26 and as expected, the servers took a beating. I was so upset but it was a highly anticipated game. I finally got to play and after a week of playing, I’m going to offer my honest thoughts.

For the most part, I really love this game. It captures the tone of the series quite well. The makers had very good eyes for detail. There are 3 maps; Crystal Lake, Higgins Haven and Packanack. Jasons include Part 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9 and a specially designed Jason by horror makeup effect maestro Tom Savini.

The main game mode is sort of like Hide and Seek. You play as a counselor of your choice and you have either escape or survive…or kill Jason. You gather stuff up. Either it’s gas, keys, batteries, propellers or phone parts. Jason stalks around and can sense the counselors. The game picks up once Jason comes around.

The game keeps you on your feet. I have been spooked more than once. Playing as Jason, you will have to use strategy to kill your prey. I have been playing as Part 3 Jason (which is my favorite look for the character). I love it. The grab kills takes you in and makes you apart of what feels like a F13 film….which is badass.

My main problem with the game is the lack of other maps or game modes. Which it’s just the first week as of now. I just get tired of seeing the same cutscenes. Also, another negative is that people pretty much ruin your enjoyment, by either spamming buttons or being unresponsive. The game requires teamwork.

Hopefully in the near future, we’ll get new game modes and even a single player. Below is my wishlist for this game. I hope you can enjoy my choices and be sure to comment what you’d like to see with the game. Also, add me on Xbox Live. My gamertag is TheCore69.

Friday the 13th: The Game Wishlist:

Playable characters:

Tina Sheppard (Psychic chick from Friday the 13th Part 7)

Roy Burns (Killer from Friday the 13th Part 5)

Pamela Voorhees (The OG F13 killer)

NES 8-Bit Jason (Retro throwback to the 1980s NES game Jason)

Creighton Duke (Bounty Hunter from Jason goes to Hell)

 

Maps:

The crazy farm from Part 5

Manhattan

The Lazarus (Boat from Friday the 13th Part 8)

The sewer (Friday the 13th Part 8)

The Voorhees House (Jason goes to Hell)

The Jarvis House (Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter)

 

Game mode:

Light the fireplace (Homage to the original F13 NES game)

 

Leave a Reply

