Things I liked/disliked about The Mummy (2017) Spoilers I guess?

“Welcome to a new world of gods and monsters”

So, we are in the process of a new cinematic universe aka The Dark Universe which will see the arrival of a shared movie universe of Universal’s legendary monsters. Which was supposed to start with 2014’s Dracula Untold, which I actually thought was okay.

So, lets’ get this out-of-the-way. I actually enjoyed myself with this one. Not the greatest film of the year, but it was enjoyable. But anyway, let me get right down to the balls and the testicles or meat and potatoes, depending on which country you’re from. Here’s what I liked and disliked about The Mummy.

Liked:

  • The Dark Universe opening logo. Very neat.
  • No time-wasting on origins of Ahmanet
  • Classic Universal mummification scene
  • Terrorists getting served USA justice
  • Plane scene was thrilling to an extent
  • Ahmanet’s creepy henchmen
  • The Creature from the Black Lagoon easter egg
  • Vampire easter egg
  • Russell Crowe as Jekyll
  • Russell Crowe as Hyde
  • Mummy 1999 easter egg
  • Actress playing Ahmanet

Disliked:

  • That one guy that played Cruise’s sidekick.
  • Silly action moments
  • Heavy reliance on CGI
  • Too epic at moments
  • Not enough monster moments
  • No world building end credits scenes
  • Shouldn’t have had a huge budget, probably won’t get anymore films in this universe

Overall though, the film was very fun. I wish the film focused more on monsters though. People will hate this film. You should give it a fair shake though. I was asked, where does this rank among Universal Mummy films?

Well, if I was rank them, it wouldn’t really be right. Most of the Mummy films haven’t been that great. Like most of the original sequels were lackluster. The 1999 film and its sequel were fair…haven’t watched Dragon Emperor though. Nothing will ever top the original 1932 film with Karloff.

But back to my point. I hope to god this universe gains some traction. I want the Universal Monsters to be relevant again much like King Kong and Godzilla are going to be in the Monsterverse. What a time to be alive.

Leave a Reply

