In Remembrance of George A. Romero

George A. Romero. A name that means a lot to me. When I was a kid, I always rented that one movie from the video store. That magnificent film that features the undead ripping the guts out of bikers, a film that made JC Penney’s seem like a fun place, a film that is instantly quotable. That film is DAWN OF THE DEAD. About forty thousand time I have watched that film. I wouldn’t have that film without Romero.

I saw him at a horror convention back in 2015. I really hate myself for not walking up to him and thanking him. His films inspire me much like they have inspired an entire generation of filmmakers and film fans. He was one of the greats. He’ll never be topped. Rest easy, Romero. You made our nights, dawns and days much more terrifying. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

